Cupcake’s Chunky Turkey Chili

Standard

So I’ve made a drastic change in my diet lately.  I’m no longer eating processed foods.  Only real, natural food for Trevaesa from now on.  This means I’ve been cooking more lately, of course.  And I recently created a masterpiece, even if I do say so myself.  😉

I’ve never made chili… didn’t have the slightest clue even how to make chili… but I just started adding things to my crock pot to see what happened, tasting as I went.  Fortunately, I thought to write it all down so I could reproduce it later if it was any good.  Turns out, it was!  What is scary though is to look at the large quantity of spices I used to get the amazing flavor as compared to the small packet of chili seasoning you can buy at the grocery.  Gives you a pretty good idea of how fake everything in that little packet is (let’s not forget the silica!), for something so small to contain as much flavor as my pile of spices.

Now for the recipe!

Belligerent Cupcake’s  Homemade Turkey Chili
 
1-1.5 lb Ground Turkey, browned and seasoned to taste with salt, red pepper, cayenne pepper, paprika, and cumin
56 oz Crushed Tomatoes
15.5 oz Kidney Beans, drained
30 oz Black Beans, drained
3 T Chili Powder
1 t Paprika
2 t Onion Powder
2 t Cumin
1 1/2 t Cayenne Pepper
2 t Minced Garlic
4 t Coarse Sea Salt
2 t Black Pepper
2 t Raw Sugar
1 t Liquid Smoke, Hickory
 

Mix all ingredients in crock pot and cook on low for about 4 hours (you want to see a slow simmer).  This makes great leftovers for the week and it’s one of those things that only gets better with time.  I like to grate a bit of fresh cheddar or colby jack on top when I serve it.

Happy Chiliing!

Leave a Reply

