Spinach and Feta Egg Puffins

Standard

So I’ve seen similar things on Pinterest lately.  You throw meat (normally bacon) into a muffin pan, fill it with eggs and cheese and such, and you have a tasty breakfast muffin-type thing.  It looked interesting, but I wanted to put my own spin on it, of course.  Love bacon, but it’s not always necessary for a tasty breakfast, and it doesn’t exactly fall into my “all natural, no crap” diet.  And I’ve been obsessed with my newfound love of spinach and feta lately.

I had a hard time figuring out what to call them.  “Muffin” screams carbs to me.  “Protein cake” doesn’t work because it’s not a cake.  “Protein muffin” is a maybe, but it’s boring, and still not carby.  But “puffin”.  The protein muffin “puffin” works for me.  Almost went as far as to call it an “egg puffin”… then “egg mcpuffin” came to mind, but I hate McDonalds and want nothing to do with it whatsoever.  😉

So there you have it, folks.  The Spinach and Feta Egg Puffin.  It’s pretty simple:

 

Next, bake those suckers at 350º for 15-20 minutes.  20 gives you a hard-boiled egg consistency.  15 gives you runny yolks.

And look what happens!  Oh glory!

 

 

As you can see, I cooked mine for 20 minutes because I’m paranoid about getting runny whites, but next time I’ll put my paranoia aside and only cook these for 15 minutes.  Either way though, they taste amazing!  They puff up some as they bake (thus “puffins” was even more appropriate) and the flavors somehow all meld together.  Something this good shouldn’t take just 5 minutes prep time, but guess what!  It does!

If you try my puffins, let me know what other ingredients you try with them!

7 responses »

  1. Do you think these would still be tasty if you made them ahead of time, wrap them up in deli paper, freeze and then microwave in the morning? They sound great!

    • They might work that way – my big concern is the dense protein center. I don’t really know how well they’d reheat in the microwave. I imagine it being like trying to cook a whole chicken breast in the microwave; the center would stay cold while the outside got overcooked. *However, you might try scrambling the eggs before you put them in. That might add enough air pockets so the center is not as dense and it might reheat better. If you try, let me know!

Leave a Reply

